A late blog from my trip to the Geneva peace festival

I had an amazing four days in Geneva, I always believe changing the atmosphere and refreshing yourself is helpful. The flight to Geneva is quick, and in one hour and a half I was in a different world, and it’s only 6 minutes from the airport to the town centre where the famous Geneva Lake is and the famous Mont Blanc Bridge.

The first night I was filmed for the B1 Nation TV, which organized the event. It was challenge and I tell you, I had to put a lot of makeup on to cover up the tiredness from my 7am flight from Gatwick! But it was a huge hall, with over 500 people there and I met amazing Arab singers who were very supportive and friendly, one of them was the stunning star Huda Saad.

The second day was much more intense, it started with breakfast in one of the most exclusive hotels, with lectures from different peace organizations. One of them was the World Food Programme (WFP), who are doing an amazing job delivering food in moments of crisis to every place in the world. There was also a very moving lecture from the Sea Shepherds charity, who save whales and dolphins, who showed an almost disturbing movie of how whales are killed.

One of the highlights of my visit was meeting the famous producer Jean-Yves Labat de Rossi, who created a music group named kolechad (one voice), of Israeli and Palestinian’s, it’s really interesting to see how the two collaborate together. The next day I performed in the grounds of the United Nations, in front of the main building which I was very proud of. The last song, I invited to the stage the Arab singer and producer Yusuf Azzar and we improvised and wrote a song together on the stage, which was really exciting, when I get the video I will send you a link.

I also met a very special man who was from Peru originally; he had nothing to do with Judaism or Israel, but he has spent a number of years of his life looking to prove that the Hebrew language is the origin of all languages. Check out his website www.edenics.org The star of the event was the French singer Francis Lalanne, who entertained us with pleasant songs.

The last night I felt already familiar with the town, I met new friends and we all went out. Geneva is a very easy place to get around on the tram, and I had a great time, the only problem was that I gained two pounds from all of the cheese and chocolate!

Published by

Tally Koren

International award-winning singer-songwriter is starting to make waves around the globe. She has been receiving great critical acclaim for her recent performances including the ‘Tate Britain’, the ‘Marbella Film Festival’, the ‘House of Lords’. A BBC Radio 2 playlist artist and the Fringe Award Winner for‘Best Singer-Songwriter’ 2011 Tally’s music has been featured on radio by Chris Evans, Graham Norton, and more In addition Tally is very passionate of using her music to build bridges between Israelis and Palestinians and has recently received a prestigious award as an “Ambassador for Peace” in the House of Commons.

2 thoughts on “A late blog from my trip to the Geneva peace festival”

Leave a Reply

