Why 72 Names ?

This week was such an intense week, especially the 13 radio interviews one after the other, which I enjoyed tremendously.

The main question that I was asked is why I choose the name of the album to be 72 names?

A group of my friends will remember the Friday night dinner when suddenly I showed concern about the old title I had for the album – Optimistic. We all agreed that it’s a nice, fresh word but might not capture what my music is about.

I went through all the titles of the album songs and then when I said 72 Names – bingo – everyone liked it.

 But why 72 Names? First, I love numbers and always choosing things according to numbers, not completely fanatic but very much into it – I wrote in my last blog about 18, which means – ‘Life’ in Hebrew.

The number 72 sounds mysteries and open. It also plays a very deep and important part in different traditions, especially in the Cabbala – The Jewish mysticism. One of the Kabbala schools and the most known one – The Kabbala centre where Maddona , Sandra Benhard, Demi Moore , Naomi Campbell and many more celebrities teach how to chant the 72 Names of the explicit name , which are made of 72 groups of three letters, each of these triplets being the name of an angel or intelligence.

According to their teaching the chanting can help to unlocked many places in life that need improvement , like -money, relationship, success and heath, even if one do not understand Hebrew. In my early days in London I study Kabbala with almost all the teachers in town such as Dr Tali Levental, Rabbi Tatz, Eliyahu Yardeni from the Kabbala centre and one of the greatest teachers Jeremy Rosen from Yakar.

After learning so much wisdom from those great teachers , life brought me to do a BA in Jewish studies and for 6 years I studied at the Leo Baeck Centre. I had the privilege to study with best academic teachers in the UK, with regards to the Jewish world, as the college trained liberal and Reform Rabbis in Europe. It was very academic and very scary for me at first when I started to study there, as everyone was so intellectual and the word mysticism was not the favourite of my college classmates. But slowly I got my confidence and stood up for what I believed in. Through studying the most serious and deepest books of Kabbala and philosophy as Sefer Hayetira and the Guide of the Perplexed by Maimonides, Martin Buber I & Thou and my favourite philosopher Spinoza – I found my own voice – A balanced view between the esoteric side and the academic. So it was a journey of taking all the mystical awareness with so much academic knowledge and gather it all. Combing many aspects of myself – maybe 72 …..or maybe many more …… I found that the important part for me in that process was to unified of all aspects to a solid one which is – the self.

Somehow I did the same with my album 72 Names – I capture all the different sounds, colours and cultures that have influenced me though out my life and I put them together. What made it to be a whole is my singing voice and the optimistic theme expressed in the lyrics.

I love coincidences in life and after choosing the name ’72 Names’ when the CD was already printed I met by a chance a very spiritual Rabbi in Israel and he told me that the geometrical value of the name Hesed in Hebrew means mercy/love is the number 72, then I understood what was the reason beyond the reason that draw me to the name.

My album is finally out and you can download it on iTunes or get it on Amazon Links on my site http://www.tallykoren.com/merch.htm

Published by

Tally Koren

International award-winning singer-songwriter is starting to make waves around the globe. She has been receiving great critical acclaim for her recent performances including the ‘Tate Britain’, the ‘Marbella Film Festival’, the ‘House of Lords’. A BBC Radio 2 playlist artist and the Fringe Award Winner for‘Best Singer-Songwriter’ 2011 Tally’s music has been featured on radio by Chris Evans, Graham Norton, and more In addition Tally is very passionate of using her music to build bridges between Israelis and Palestinians and has recently received a prestigious award as an “Ambassador for Peace” in the House of Commons.

Leave a Reply

