‘Beauty of the Duty’ video: Always follow your intuition!

A trip and video in Belfast that happened by chance and turned out to be a life changing experience.

A month before Christmas I put an advert in Shooting People –  great site for finding anything to do with filming https://shootingpeople.org

I put an advert for a director  for the video of my single ‘Beauty of the Duty’. At the time I didn’t imagine that the single will do so well so quick, and be in the playlist of BBC radio 2 and over 40 radio stations around the country.

Over 10 responses came to us with very talented young directors and producers, they all were very keen to shoot the video. I selected from all of them a top 5 to meet up with, it was a new experience to meet directors and to see who I would will like to hire. As a model or actress I experience the opposite situation, directors meeting me to see if I am right for the part.

Photo from my modeling days.

I just learn from that, never to take rejection as a rejection, just not the right thing at the right time. From all the directors I went for the one who’s presentation looked very professional and highly organised. This showed me how much presentation and first impression is important!

We met before the break and agreed about a few things then we met again after the holiday when nothing yet was organized, not even location. After few meetings I actually felt the opposite of elevated and positive, I was a bit concerned because our deadline was so soon. I decided to put it on hold and let myself think and understand why I feel this way. In the mean time I went to the Irish director Allan Gildea, I witnessed his show real and felt that its so beautiful and positive and would completely suit the message of the song. I called Allan and explained the situation I was in and the limitation of time and money, we decided to speak in few days.

In the meantime I felt that the other director that is younger and less experienced was not right for Beauty of the Duty, although he is very talented. I hate to let people down but I had to in this case, I knew I had to get the best end result possible with the budget I had. The answer was clear I am shooting with Allan Gildea, but that means going to Belfast in a few days and having to organize it all. From the moment we started to talk over the phone all my energy changed and everything just flowed and I felt that I was in capable hands and so happy that I listen to my intuition.

Photo from the shoot with Allan Gildea the director.

Find out more about Allan: http://www.allangildea.com

Published by

Tally Koren

International award-winning singer-songwriter is starting to make waves around the globe. She has been receiving great critical acclaim for her recent performances including the ‘Tate Britain’, the ‘Marbella Film Festival’, the ‘House of Lords’. A BBC Radio 2 playlist artist and the Fringe Award Winner for‘Best Singer-Songwriter’ 2011 Tally’s music has been featured on radio by Chris Evans, Graham Norton, and more In addition Tally is very passionate of using her music to build bridges between Israelis and Palestinians and has recently received a prestigious award as an “Ambassador for Peace” in the House of Commons.

Leave a Reply

