My visit to Germany

I was invited by German label FGS to come and play in Frankfurt on the 7th April. It was my first gig in Germany and I was very excited. I flew with Lufthansa in the morning direct to the Musik Messe conference the place of the gig and in less than one hour I was in a different life to the UK.

I must say the seats in the airplanes were very comfortable but I was very surprised by the airline’s hospitality only giving a muffin and an apple slice during the two journeys! But once I arrived the delicious German food, especially the sandwiches, compensated for my hunger!

When I came to the music conference I had the surprise of my life, the conference in Frankfurt can contain 50,000 people and is one of the largest in the world! To get from building to building there was a shuttle bus. When I got to the hall I was taken away by all of the instruments, all of the guitars and cellos but less comfortable for the ears were all of the amplifiers, which were all being played at once!

It was a very interesting view for me as a singer-songwriter to see over 20,000 people who occupy the same genre as I do, but as they were more from the musician side, rock and roll was the name of the game!

There were a lot of Asian people there as well, who were there to sell cheap instruments to beginners. So what can I say, this was heaven on earth for musicians and a must to visit at least once in a lifetime.

The label who invited me booked me a hotel at the last moment, but it was lovely www.roedelheimer-hof.de and we were lucky to have a hotel less than 10 minutes away from the conference. One of the things I was so amazed by in Frankfurt was the friendliness and hospitality of the German people, something that I didn’t expect.

In the first night the receptionist of my hotel recommended to us a local restaurant Loftage Restaurant Bistro and what can I tell you – I am going back there the next time I’m in Frankfurt! It was the most beautiful decoration, elegant and almost like a little palace but it was a warm and wonderful hospitality with delicious food – www.loftage.de

The gig itself was in one of the big halls, in a stand sponsored by the government for independent labels. There were different rock bands playing and I was told that I was the first female to play in the conference! When I heard the loudness of the voice, as a SOS plan I changed the set-list of the songs and I took the quiet and romantic ones from the list! The gig went very well but what can I tell you, I was counting the moment to leave as I didn’t take with me earplugs!

The next day I visited the Frankfurt town and we had magical weather and it was beautiful to walk by the River am Main. I went to visit the Jewish museum, which was by the river, it was nice to speak my language and recognize images there. Then, as always, I went to the shopping are and they have a very nice and long stretch of shops with incredible department stores.

When I was walking by the river there were many beautiful restaurants and because of the weather I really felt like I was on holiday.

The two days and change of atmosphere and the future looks great and I can’t wait to go back to Frankfurt!


Published by

Tally Koren

International award-winning singer-songwriter is starting to make waves around the globe. She has been receiving great critical acclaim for her recent performances including the ‘Tate Britain’, the ‘Marbella Film Festival’, the ‘House of Lords’. A BBC Radio 2 playlist artist and the Fringe Award Winner for‘Best Singer-Songwriter’ 2011 Tally’s music has been featured on radio by Chris Evans, Graham Norton, and more In addition Tally is very passionate of using her music to build bridges between Israelis and Palestinians and has recently received a prestigious award as an “Ambassador for Peace” in the House of Commons.

Leave a Reply

