Skip to content

United Nations International Women’s Day 2013 Event at the House of Common

March 14, 2013

What a fascinating evening I had last night in the House of Common for

United Nations International Women’s Day 2013.

The event was Hosted by Mr. Virendra Sharma MP and there were

so many inspiring women on the panel includes –

Lady Fiona Hodgson, chairman of GAPS – ( Gender action in peace security )

Charlotte Simon Co – Founder of Mothers in Congo.

Baroness Oona King of Bow – Diversity Executive as channel 4.

Brita Fernandez Schmidt – Executive Director – Woman For Woman.

Baroness Meral Hussein – Ece OBE.

Cllr. Mimi Harker OBE , Mayor of Amersham. Seema Malhotra, MP, PPS

and the wonderful  lady that was behind all the organisation of that event

                                        Margaret  Keverian Ali Director of UPF.

You can imagine  with such a team of ladies how interesting was the event .

The main subject was violence towards women in the world .

I was shocked to hear stories about rapes and murdering women from babies to adult .

The only positive side of the event was to see the other side of the world, people that gives their  life to make a change for a better world.

We as individuals , can also contribute by spreading  the message around the world ,  Focus on the right campaigns and the most important,

 make politicians  more aware of situation  and take actions !

Woman  were always the minority in the high positions  through history but we have the inner voice and  the power and when we comes to  positions

  We  make the change .

That was the main message from all the ladies on the panel that got to those high positions  and encourage us to do so as well.

Get into your  local communities , or get involve there are  so many organisations that needs your help now .

For  me as a singer songwriter that write about positive things –

changing and making a better life,

it was a real boost of inspiration !

 I was asked at the end of the evening to sing a song.

The truth was that I wasn’t prepared at all  and my voice wasn’t warm to sing but it was such a moving event , with so many passionate people , so  I wanted to contribute as well and my way is with songs.

I chose to sing my song My River and sang it acapella

 The song is  apparition for the goodness that we have and a prayer  for a better place .

My River

When the sun is shining
I am looking at my river
Seeing all that left behind
Fading far away.
I am looking at my river
Seeing Thy reflection
I smile to you with gratitude
For all the goodness that I haveI am talking to my river
When I feel your distance
I pray to you with all my heart
To wash my tears away

I listen to my river
In silence I can hear you
sings through me just words of love
Then I know that you are there .

One Comment leave one →
  1. ruth dytches permalink
    March 15, 2013 7:58 am

    Amazing, and amazing song.

    _____

Leave a Reply

